All you need to know ahead of the UEFA Europa League Preliminary Round draw

It’s draw day!

In a few hours time, we’ll know which team we’ll be facing in this season’s preliminary round of the UEFA Europa League.

The draw will be streamed live from UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland. It is scheduled to start at 12pm Welsh time and expected to last around 15 minutes.

In accordance with the principles set by the Club Competitions Committee at its meeting on 17 June 2020, UEFA has split the draw into two groups – each with an equal number of seeded and unseeded teams.

Barry are one of four unseeded teams in Group 2 – along with St. Joseph’s (Gibraltar), Coleraine (Northern Ireland) and Glentoran (Northern Ireland). This means we will face one of the following four seeded clubs: B36 Torshavn (Faroe Islands), La Fiorita (San Marino), NSI Runavik (Faroe Islands) or HB Torshavn (Faroe Islands).

The balls containing the names of the seeded teams will be placed in one bowl and the balls containing the names of the unseeded teams will be put into another bowl. One ball will be taken from each bowl and placed in a large empty bowl in the middle, where they will be shuffled. The club drawn first plays the single leg of the tie at home if no fixture reversals apply.

All preliminary round fixtures are currently scheduled to take place on Thursday 20th August. All match dates, venues and kick-off times will be confirmed by the end of Monday 10th August.

Should we be drawn as the home team, the fixture will be played at the Cardiff City Stadium. As previously communicated, all fixtures in the preliminary round will go ahead without supporters upon UEFA request.

Monday 10th August is also the date for the competition’s first qualifying round, meaning we will find out our next opponent should we progress from the preliminary round. We will once again be unseeded for this draw, unless we are drawn against B36 Torshavn this afternoon.